top of page

Insanity

Today marks the beginning of week 4 of Insanity. All I can say is I am sore but have realized I need to amp up my weekend nutrition to obtain the results I am hoping for. I have also been going to a new gym every Friday since starting Insanity. I do love the feeling of Friday mornings sitting knowing that I have gotten in my daily workout plus and can enjoy the day. I know Christa is the workout master so this post is not about that, although I did get my workout routine approved by her!

In the last 3 weeks, with beginning such a strict workout routine, I have realized I need to make sure my intake matches this. That means that some days I may have a morning snack to fuel me after a workout or that my dinner meal needs to be more well rounded to fuel me. I have a FitBit, which I love, and have been using the tracker app to track my meals most day. This allows me to monitor my intake while balancing my activity and calorie expenditure.

Fridays have been my double workout days and I have loved it! I get up and go to my 6:00 class then come home to fuel up with breakfast with my husband. My go to has been oatmeal with a scoop of peanut butter and a scoop of jelly. This gives me protein, fat, and whole grains to get me ready for workout #2. I then go on to the Insanity for the day to ensure I am not behind. After this I know that it is important to fuel up since lunch is a few hours away. This week I had whole grain muffins I made from Bob's Red Mill 10 grain hot cereal. I made these last week and added in nuts and dried fruit to amp up the nutrition and flavor. One of these after my workout gives me some extra fiber and carbohydrates to fuel back up. And I can't forget my coffee...fresh brewed with a packet of stevia and some almond milk. The perfect cup to cuddle on the couch with my cat and watch Good Morning America before getting on with my day.

I have been working harder on planning healthy meals and snacks that are available throughout the day. It is important to fill up at the grocery store with healthy options and avoid the foods that may trigger you to overeat. I did a previous post about how I fill my cart at the store. It is essential to set yourself up for success and not failure.

Side note: In all my recent diet educations at work and outside I have realized I have two broken record sayings. 1) Set yourself up for success and not failure and 2) Moderation is key. I love both of these and cannot stop using them!

As I begin this fourth week I am ready to commit the last 10%. I am planning to use my Fitbit for both activity and food tracking. I am going to fuel up with healthy snacks between meals and allow myself a treat over the weekend. The biggest thing for me is to remember that one treat is good, eating the whole pan of brownies is not good! I love the way I feel after an awesome workout and a day of eating highly nutrient dense foods. I throughly am enjoying my President's Day off and cannot wait to see what this week holds. Meal planning is on my mind and I am planning to get a group together to start this!

Have an amazing week!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page