top of page

Meal Planning...the Beginning

Meal planning...everyone wants to start doing it but most don't get past the Pinterest boards. The first big step is to start a binder (physical or virtual). I have started using Evernote and will be using that as my "binder" for meal planning. The other thing I am going to invest in is a board for my kitchen. A place to write what meals are set for

every day. With the busy schedules we all have it can be hard to get a meal on the table every night that isn't from a package or fast food.

Start with deciding if you are planning all meals or just dinner. Breakfast and lunch can be easy. Make a list of 4-5 options for breakfasts. If you like to be fully planned decide what you will do each morning and write it on your calendar. I have a rotation of a few different items. Weekends can sometimes be off the rails because I have more time to make something more interesting. If you have kids in school do you pack their lunch and if so make a list of different options to put in the lunch bag. For dinner pick recipes that are make ahead or easy to make after a long day.

Today I will tackle breakfast. I am going to give you several different ideas to put in your rotation. Some can be made over the weekend to have ready during the week, others are quick for busy mornings. I even have a few weekend options when you may have more time.

Oatmeal: I buy old fashioned oats. They cook in the microwave in 3 minutes and you can adapt them to whatever you are in the mood for. Add a scoop of peanut butter and a scoop of jelly to make PB&J oats. Or add a scoop of pumpkin puree, teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, pecans, and a drizzle of maple syrup. Or slice up a banana and add a handful of walnuts. For any of these you can add a drizzle of maple syrup or honey or even a small amount of brown sugar to add some sweetness. I also love adding other fresh fruit to add natural sweetness and tons of nutrients or even different nuts or chia seeds.

Eggs: 2-3 times a week I scramble up a few eggs, heat up a turkey sausage patty, and toast a slice of whole grain bread. This is one of my favorite breakfasts when I have enough time to relax and sit down for a few minutes. I look for a good whole grain bread with 3 or more grams of fiber per slice.

Cereal: This is my go to if I have no time in the morning but want to get something quick. It can be hard since so many have lots of added sugar. I look for simple cereals without a lot of added sugar; Cheerios, Chex, Kix, etc. I normally keep a box on hand for those busy mornings where we need something fast.

Breakfast sandwiches: This is something I tried this weekend and I LOVE it! I bought whole grain English muffins, sharp cheddar cheese, and Canadian bacon. I cooked my eggs in the oven in a muffin tin to make it easier and faster. I assembled them and wrapped them in foil. Then threw them in the freezer. You can pull them out the night before to defrost in the fridge or just throw them in the microwave right out of the freezer. A quick easy on the go breakfast option.

Pancakes and waffles: Some weekends I like to make pancakes and waffles as a treat. If I'm lazy it's from a mix but every once in a while I make homemade. Earlier I posted the protein pancake recipe and those are my favorite! You can change up the mix ins to adapt it to what you are craving.

Smoothies: These are one of my favorite breakfast ideas. I use unsweetened almond milk, Greek yogurt, frozen fruit, chia seeds, and protein powder. Other times I use frozen banana, peanut butter, chia seeds, and unsweetened almond milk. The big thing here is portion control! They can make you think you are making a healthy choice when in fact you are getting more sugar and calories than needed.

Muffins: I love making muffins over the weekend to have as part of breakfast or snacks. I found a great recipe from Bob's Red Mill 10 grain cereal and added in some nuts and fruit to change up the flavors. They are high in fiber and nutrients but low in sugar. (This is one area where I want to experiment more- Healthy breakfast muffins)

Granola: This is another thing I have experimented with a lot recently. I have posted recipes on here before and I am always looking for new combinations. I can tell you there will be plenty more mentions on this! I love throwing granola over some yogurt for a quick breakfast or after workout snack.

I hope this helps you start your menu planning journey. I am hoping to get my menu planning up and running as these posts go on.

Happy Planning!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page