top of page

December...already?


Is it really December 7? I mean I woke up to rain yesterday and even though my apartment has a Christmas tree and lights up it does not feel like Christmas time. I also am trying to figure out how 12 months have gone by already. I have been married for 6 months almost! It just seems crazy. I spent most of my morning yesterday experimenting and baking. I have decided that the bread machine is the best invention ever. I love the smell as it mixes, rises, and bakes.

I bought a bag of quinoa flour one day at Walmart because it was on sale but have had no clue what to do with it. I do love quinoa but wasn't sure about using it as a flour replacement. I found a recipe that used a small amount with white flour as the main component. I decided to try doing half and half to see how it would go. The loaf didn't rise as much as I expected but trying a warm slice with some butter made me a believer. It has that amazing nutiness of quinoa with the texture of bread. I cannot wait to try it in different recipes and give you updates!

My other challenge was chia seed pudding. My sister had been telling me about it and my sister-in-law gave me a bag of chia seeds as a wedding shower gift so I knew I had to tackle it. I have not gotten over my pumpkin obsession yet so I went with pumpkin spice chia seed pudding. I am hoping to work on making a chocolate peppermint version and even a gingerbread version for the season.

This pudding was simple. Mix all ingredients up in a mason jar and chill for 4+ hours. I loved how it firmed up but some of the seeds were left crunchy to add some texture. The one jar I made has lasted me two days. The whole jar was 330 calories so splitting it in two servings made it a dessert of 165 calories.

Chia Seed Pudding

1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other non dairy milk)

4 tablespoons chia seeds

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon honey

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

3 tablespoons pumpkin puree

Mix it all in a sealed container and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

You can mix up the spices as well. Take the first three ingredients and add spices and sweetener for your taste. I will be working on a gingerbread and peppermint mocha version in the next two weekends. I have also been dying to try a different version of almond or other nut butter and granolas for the Christmas season. Be on the lookout for those!


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page