top of page

First Snowfall!


We are only 4 days from Thanksgiving and I cannot believe how fast this year has gone. I have been spending this weekend baking cookies for a cookie exchange I am going to on Sunday which means I am also doing some healthy baking. My recipe for the weekend was one of my mother in laws. She makes these amazing protein pancakes, I got her recipe and tweaked it to make it my own.

This year we are not going back to Chicago for Thanksgiving so we are here in our apartment celebrating our first Thanksgiving as husband and wife. Since we had Thanksgiving with my family back home at the beginning of the month we decided to do something different…pizza! My only request was that we could make homemade dough and everything. I will have to make some sort of pumpkin dessert to bring in the holiday and will most likely make pumpkin waffles in the morning but everything else will be very non-traditional.

Now back to those protein pancakes. For three pancakes you get a good amount of protein and fiber to help fuel you for the rest of your day. They are also super simple and great as a make ahead meal. Make a big batch on Sunday and freeze them. Then just reheat them throughout the week. Protein powder is a big reason for the high protein content. When choosing a protein powder, look for a brand that has a low sugar content. Depending on what flavors you plan to use you may want to go with plain or vanilla in order to not overpower other flavors. I use a low fat version of cottage cheese to avoid unneeded calories.

I love to have these around for those busy morning when you don’t have time. It also helps so you can avoid grabbing an unhealthy alternative as you run out the door. I love changing up the mix -ins and having something different every time. Top them with syrup, jam, nut butters, or eat them plain!

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

3 eggs

½ cup cottage cheese

½ cup oats

1 scoop protein powder

1 Tablespoon chia seed

¼ cup pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Chopped pecans

Put all ingredients, except pecans, in a blender and blend until all mixed.

(Don't mind the wedding photo in the background...small apartment means it looks like I have an obsession with myself and my husband.)

Spray a griddle pan with cooking spray and spoon ¼ cup of batter. Top with chopped pecans and flip when bubbly and brown on one side.

I served mine with a pat of butter and some maple syrup.

Nutrition Info: (per 3 pancakes) 195 calories 8 grams fat 16 grams carbohydrates 18 grams protein 3.5 grams fiber

You can try different add ins for different seasons as well. Try flaxseed, chia seed, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, or fruit. My mother in law cooked some pears and cinnamon in butter and poured the batter over that to make a fall version.

These taste just like the amazing pancakes you love but more nutritious. My husband even was surprised at home much like pancakes they were. Try them and let me know what you think!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page